Seventh Ward Photography

Don’t Look Back in Anger

I was a reporter once. I took my notebook out into the world of South Central Wisconsin to capture the ethos of the community for nearly three years.

That’s what I’d like to think happened, anyway.

The reality was that I sat in endless government meetings and had an editor who wrote column after column about the scourge that was (is?) Eminem. Said editor also enjoyed placing the transition “Meantime” into my stories after I turned them in. I’d wager he believed I’d never notice.

What I could kick myself for now is that I had the opportunity to become a kick-ass photographer and get paid for it. I actively avoided taking photos for work back then, as I a) was too scared, b) embroiled in some stupid drama with a dude and c) believed I could never improve my shooting.

Now I’m lucky if I see something photo-worthy on a daily basis, let alone capture it with my iPhone.

So don’t make the same mistakes I did. I haven’t checked it out yet, but I betcha if you look up the quote “Youth is wasted on the young” on urbandictionary.com, you’ll see a picture of my freckled mug.

 

This entry was published on January 24, 2012 at 10:07 pm and is filed under iPhone, Personal, Picnik. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Don’t Look Back in Anger

  1. siouxzee on said:

    D-Dude was obsessed with Eminem?? weird …

Leave a Reply

